A supplement contract manufacturer formulates, fills and labels dietary supplement products under your own brand name. The thing a beauty founder has to grasp before ordering is that supplements run under a completely different US regime from cosmetics — DSHEA and 21 CFR Part 111, not MoCRA — so the factory that makes your serum is not automatically equipped to make your capsule. Decide which rulebook your product lives under, and confirm the plant holds the matching compliance, before you compare prices.
“Beauty-from-within” has pulled cosmetic brands into supplements — collagen powders, biotin gummies, skin-support capsules. The search intent is real: “supplement contract manufacturer” carries a $5.59 CPC in the US (Keywords Everywhere / Google Keyword Planner, retrieved 2026-10-29), which is advertiser-speak for serious buyers. But a founder arriving from a skincare background walks into a different regulatory world, a different certification set, and manufacturers that use the same words — “white label,” “private label” — to mean different things. This piece maps the switch, names real supplement makers including where Moe’s Group is the wrong call, and flags what we could not verify.
- White label
- Ready-made / existing formula you put your label on. At Moe’s Group this is a 200-unit minimum — but that 200-unit tier is confirmed for skincare, hair and body care, not supplements.
- Private label
- A custom formulation you own. At Moe’s Group a 1,000-unit minimum. For supplements specifically, Moe’s confirmed a 1,000-unit MOQ (Sean, 2026-10-29).
- Contract manufacturing
- The manufacturing service itself; formulation ownership, pricing and lead time are agreed per project.
Read that white label → private label → contract manufacturing ordering as describing Moe’s Group’s own cosmetics offers. Supplement specialists frequently flip the labels — many call an off-shelf, brand-labelled formula “private label” — so do not infer an absolute cost or speed ranking across factories from the words alone. A neutral cross-category breakdown is FemFounded’s white label vs. private label vs. contract manufacturing reference (checked 2026-10-29).

How is supplement manufacturing regulated differently from cosmetics?
Supplements and cosmetics live under two separate US frameworks, and confusing them is the most expensive mistake a crossover brand makes. Cosmetics fall under MoCRA; dietary supplements fall under the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act (DSHEA) and are made to the current good manufacturing practice rules in 21 CFR Part 111. The FDA does not approve supplements before sale — as its own dietary supplements overview states, manufacturers are responsible for ensuring products are safe and properly labelled, and the agency acts after market.
Three practical consequences for a beauty founder:
- FDA registration is a different registration. A cosmetic facility’s MoCRA registration does not cover dietary supplement manufacturing — that is a separate dietary supplement establishment registration. “FDA registered” for one does not mean registered for the other, and the FDA does not issue pre-market approval for either category in the first place.
- The GMP certificate must be the right GMP. ISO 22716 is the cosmetics GMP standard. It does not cover supplements, which need compliance with 21 CFR Part 111. Ask specifically whether a prospective plant holds documented Part 111 compliance for its supplement line — a cosmetics certificate is not a substitute.
- Supplement claims have their own boundary. Supplements may carry structure/function claims, but each must bear the FDA disclaimer: “This statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.” You still cannot say a product treats a condition.

What should a beauty brand check before ordering supplements?
The vetting checklist overlaps with cosmetics on the fundamentals and diverges on the specialist points. The clearest general framework — verify the GMP certificate’s actual scope, check the facility’s FDA FEI number, get MOQ and lead time in writing, and confirm who owns the formula — is laid out in Moe’s Group’s own guide, How to Choose a Private Label Manufacturer. It is worth reading because it is the only Moe’s page that states in plain text that the company makes “skincare, hair care and supplements at our own facility in Chatsworth, California,” and the checklist transfers directly to supplement due diligence. (Disclosure: Moe’s Group backs this site; see our editorial policy. The guide earns the link on its content, and we name its limits below.)
On top of that general list, a supplement buyer should add:
- Format capability. Capsule, tablet, gummy, powder and softgel each need different tooling. A plant strong in one is not automatically set up for another. Ask which formats are made in-house versus outsourced.
- NSF certification, if you sell on Amazon. Amazon’s dietary supplement policy now expects NSF (or equivalent) certification for supplement listings (per an April 2026 Alibaba seller guide citing Amazon policy; verify current Amazon requirements directly before relying on it). If you need it, the manufacturer must already hold it.
- Realistic MOQ for the format. Supplement MOQs commonly run 1,000–5,000 units, higher for specialist formats like collagen powder, per FemFounded’s MOQ reference (checked 2026-10-29). A 1,000-unit entry point is at the accessible end.

Who makes supplements — and where is Moe’s Group the wrong fit?
Real alternatives first, with the date each was checked and a link, because minimums and certifications change and a wrong competitor figure is a false-advertising problem, not a typo. Where a factory has not published a number, the cell is left blank on purpose.
| Manufacturer | Location | Speciality / formats | Stated MOQ | Notable | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vitaplusinter | Temecula, CA | Gummies, softgels, tablets, capsules, powders | Not publicly stated | FDA-registered, cGMP-certified; same state as Moe’s | 2026-10-29 |
| NutraSeller | USA | Collagen — capsules, powders, gummies, liquids | ~2,500 (collagen) | Marine collagen specialty; COA per batch | 2026-10-29 |
| Sun Nutraceuticals | Fort Lauderdale, FL | Collagen powder / capsules | ~5,000 | SGS-certified GMP; integrated fulfillment | 2026-10-29 |
| Enova Science | Fort Myers, FL | Gummies, capsules, powders, liquids, tablets | ~5,000 (beauty capsule) | NSF GMP; USDA Organic capable | 2026-10-29 |
| Eagle Labs | Oldsmar, FL | Collagen, beauty supplements | Not stated | NSF certified (supplements, skin care, OTC); USDA Organic, Halal | 2026-10-29 |
Moe’s Group is a California-based, FDA-registered contract manufacturer whose core is skincare, hair care and body care, and which confirmed it runs supplement machines in-house in Chatsworth, with a 1,000-unit supplement MOQ and capacity of up to one million units a month (Sean, 2026-10-28/29). That makes it a clean fit in some cases and the wrong call in others. Said plainly, Moe’s is likely the wrong choice when:
- You make only supplements. A standalone supplement brand is usually better served long-term by a plant purpose-built around DSHEA, Part 111 and format specialisation — a dedicated house like Vitaplusinter or Enova Science.
- You need NSF certification now. If NSF is a hard requirement (Amazon listings, retail buyers), you need a confirmed NSF-certified supplement plant such as Eagle Labs or Enova Science. Moe’s NSF status for supplements is not on record, so do not assume it.
- You need a specific, specialist format at volume. Gummies, tablets and softgels need dedicated tooling; collagen powder programs at 2,500+ units suit a collagen specialist like NutraSeller or Sun Nutraceuticals. Moe’s supplement formats are not confirmed.
Where Moe’s does fit: a beauty brand adding a first supplement SKU alongside an existing topical line, wanting one Californian partner, one NDA and one facility visit, at an accessible 1,000-unit entry — a sensible way to test demand before committing to a supplement-specialist at higher volume. If that is you, the product inquiry form is where you ask whether the specific format and certification you need are actually available.

What could not be confirmed — and why that matters
An honest guide flags its gaps. Several supplement-specific facts about Moe’s Group are not on record, and we will not print them until they are:
- Formats. Moe’s confirmed supplement machines are in-house but did not specify capsule, gummy, powder, tablet or softgel. Ask before assuming your format is covered.
- 21 CFR Part 111 documentation and NSF. Moe’s holds ISO 22716 for cosmetics; its Part 111 supplement-GMP documentation and NSF status are unverified. Confirm both directly if they matter to you.
- Dietary supplement establishment registration. Moe’s cosmetic registration does not extend to supplements; its separate supplement registration is not on record.
- Turnaround. The roughly seven-days-from-approval figure Moe’s quotes is a cosmetics figure. Supplement turnaround was not confirmed, so treat it as an open question.
None of these are knocks — they are the exact questions a careful buyer should put to any manufacturer, Moe’s included, and the reason to get every answer in writing.
A note on the pictures
There are no competitor product photos in the table above. This site does not use stock or AI-generated images of real products, and republishing another company’s photography is neither reliable nor ours to do. Where a genuine, sourced product image is not available, the cell stays as text and a link. The one drawn character here, Chuffy, is openly the site’s own illustration — not a depiction of any real product.
Frequently asked questions
What is a supplement contract manufacturer? A company that formulates, fills and labels dietary supplement products — capsules, powders, gummies and more — under your brand name, so you sell a finished product you did not manufacture yourself.
Is supplement manufacturing regulated like cosmetics? No. Supplements run under DSHEA and 21 CFR Part 111; cosmetics run under MoCRA. The FDA does not approve supplements before sale, and a cosmetics GMP certificate (ISO 22716) does not cover supplement manufacturing.
What is the MOQ for private label supplements? Commonly 1,000–5,000 units, and higher for specialist formats such as collagen powder. Moe’s Group confirmed a 1,000-unit supplement MOQ (2026-10-29), which is at the accessible end of the range.
Do I need NSF certification to sell supplements on Amazon? Amazon’s dietary supplement policy now expects NSF or equivalent certification for supplement listings; verify the current requirement with Amazon directly, and if it applies, use a manufacturer that already holds the certification.
Can my cosmetics manufacturer also make my supplement? Only if it holds the separate supplement compliance — 21 CFR Part 111 documentation, a dietary supplement establishment registration, and the right format tooling. Moe’s Group says it makes supplements in-house in California; confirm its Part 111 and NSF status and your specific format before ordering.
